President Obama Awards The National Medal Of Science & Technology & Innovation


Update with full video presentation- 11-18-10

What you Missed:   Tuesday Talk On the National Medals of Science, and national Medal of Technology and Innovation

 by Kori Schulman on November 17, 2010 at 10:00 AM EST

Yesterday, three National Medal recipients joined us for Tuesday Talks – including Steven Sasson, the inventor of the digital camera; Marye Anne Fox, a pioneer in organic photochemistry and electrochemistry; and Warren Washington, a leader in climate change research. They answered your questions on a range of topics – from the evolution of digital photography to careers for women in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics.

The recipients are:

National Medal of Science
Yakir Aharonov, Chapman University, CA
Stephen J. Benkovic, Pennsylvania State University, PA
Esther M. Conwell, University of Rochester, NY
Marye Anne Fox, University of California San Diego, CA
Susan L. Lindquist, Whitehead Institute, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA
Mortimer Mishkin, National Institutes of Health, MD
David B. Mumford, Brown University, RI
Stanley B. Prusiner, University of California San Francisco, CA
Warren M. Washington, National Center for Atmospheric Research, CO
Amnon Yariv, California Institute of Technology, CA
National Medal of Technology and Innovation
Harry W. Coover, Eastman Chemical Company, TN
Helen M. Free, Miles Laboratories, IN
Steven J. Sasson, Eastman Kodak Company, NY
Federico Faggin, Marcian E. Hoff Jr., Stanley Mazor; Intel Corporation, CA

We’ll post the full video of the ceremony when available.

This entry was posted in Current Events, Education, Good News!, History, Inspiration, Media, President Obama, Science, Technology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to President Obama Awards The National Medal Of Science & Technology & Innovation

  1. Ametia says:

    Congratulations and thank you to all these folks. EDUCATION PAYS OFF!

  2. Ametia says:

    I love watching this ceremony. It’s a great way to releave headaches from the mediocrity of the teabaggers and lame stream media pundits! LOL

  3. Ametia says:

    Charles Bolden, Administrator of NASA is in attendance.

    Love it that POTUS is honoring our scientist.

  4. Ametia says:

    The recipients are entering the East room now.

Leave a Reply